Kuliax

Kuliax 6.0 (Linux Review)

Kuliax is an Indonesian linux disto that focuses to education (especially IT). I installed Kuliax 6 when I got a free time. My good view about Kuliax : Kuliax has a lot softwares by default. It’ll very useful for education usage, especially in IT subject. Here are the softwares on Kuliax 6.0 :

Development :
Emulator
gmixvm
mixguile
KDevelop
Assistant Document Manager
Designer
C/C++ IDE for C/C++
Multilanguage IDE
Ruby IDE
Scripting IDE
SunJava
ArgoUML
GNU Small Talk
Guile 1.6
Hugs
Motor
Python (v 2.4)
SWI Prolog

Graphics :
GIMP
GwenView
ImageMagick
Inkscape
KPDF
KSnapshot
XMRM MPG
XMRM
Xaos
Xfig

Internet :
Akregator RSS Feeder
GAIM Instant Messenger
IceWeasel Web Browser
KFTP Grabber
KMail
KNetAttach
Konqueror Web Browser
Krdc Remote Desktop Connection
Sun Java 5 Web Start
Wireless Assistant

Multimedia :
Audacity
K3B
KMPlayer
KMix Sound Mixer
Kino
XMMS

Office :
FreeMind
GantProject
OpenOfficeOrg

Utilities :
Database
SQL Lite
Desktop
Abacus
KFontView
KPager
KTip
Klipper
StarDict (Inggris-Indonesia)
Editors
KWrite
Kate
KCHM Viewer
File
Ark Archieve Manager
mc
Peripherals
KJobViewer
KdeprintFax
Science & Math
GNU R
Octave
RKWard
Technical
KTechLab
TkGate
VisualOS

My little disappointed about Kuliax 6.0 : My sound card (Realtek) hasn’t detected by Kuliax 6. A famous Linux distro can detect my sound card, but Kuliax didn’t detect it. I hope it only happened on my PC. Kuliax has detected my sound card (Realtek), but it has muted the sound by default. You should unmute the sound if you want to enable the sound (please refer the comments bellow).

Conclusion :

Kuliax 6.0 is a good choice for you if you want to use a Linux distro that focuses to education (especially IT).

Reviewed by :Yusuf KS.

4 Responses to “Kuliax”


  1. 1 klx October 2, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    your sound card maybe detected by Kuliax 6.0, but AFAIK you must change the volume, PCM bar, and friends with KMixer. by “default” Kuliax 6.0 has muted the sound🙂

  2. 2 Yusuf KS October 3, 2007 at 9:52 am

    I knew Kuliax has muted the sound by default, I checked the volume, PCM bar, and KMixer (also I tried to play music files) but still no sound on Kuliax. So I thought “maybe Kuliax hasn’t detected my sound card”.

  3. 3 klx October 5, 2007 at 1:44 am

    hmm what sound card do you have?

  4. 4 Yusuf KS October 9, 2007 at 9:50 am

    My sound card is Realtek AC97 (Linux may detect it as SiS SI7012).

    I tried Kuliax 6.0 again, because I was curious about it. Here’s the result :

    – I run KMix, then unmuted the sound : the sound wasn’t out *just like I did long time ago*.
    – I maximized all volume on the KMixer : the sound wasn’t out *just like I did long time ago*.
    – I selected master channel, chose master/master mono/ PC Speaker/ect : the sound wasn’t out.
    – I selected master channel, chose PCM : [Finally] the sound was out (It’s kinda weird, but it was working afterall).

    Thanks for the suggestion, it triggered me to try Kuliax again. I will edit my Kuliax preview article and add some snapshot there. Who are you by the way? Are you a Kuliax developer or kuliax user? Maybe we can discuss about Linux, especially kuliax🙂 Kuliax is one of my linux distros favorite.


Leave a Reply

Choose Category :

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 80,790 hits

Attention :

I would like you to ask permission if you want to “copy, paste and share” my work on this blog. However if you do not then please just give the credit/link.

Website Safety Reputation:
Rating for myks.wordpress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

